Meet our 2019 National Scientific Advisory Group


Red Nose’s 2019 National Scientific Advisory Group convened for its first meeting of the year this week.

Our National Scientific Advisory Group (NSAG) is an education and research committee whose role is to recommend research initiatives, identify gaps in Red Nose education and grief and loss services; and to ensure our education messages stem from evidence-based research.

The NSAG committee is made up of leading Australian specialists and experts across the stillbirth, sudden and unexpected death in infancy, and bereavement space.

Our National Scientific Advisory Group for 2019 is:

Professor Craig Pennell (Chair), Chair in Obstetrics and Gynaecology and Professor of Maternal Fetal Medicine, University of Newcastle; and a Principal Researcher, Hunter Medical Research Institute

Dr Adrienne Gordon (Deputy Chair), Neonatalologist and Clinical Senior Lecturer, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, The University of Sydney

Professor Jeanine Young, School of Nursing and Midwifery, University of the Sunshine Coast; and Visiting Senior Research Fellow, Children’s Health Queensland Hospital and Health Service

Dr Susan Arbuckle, Senior Staff Specialist, Histopathology, Children’s Hospital Westmead

Prof Roger Byard AO PSM, Chair of Pathology, University of Adelaide, and Senior Specialist Forensic Pathologist, Forensic Science SA

Prof Heather Jeffrey AO, Professor International Maternal and Child Health (Hon), Sydney School of Public Health

Assoc Prof Jane Freemantle, Principal Research Fellow, Melbourne School of Population and Global Health, University of Melbourne

Dr Gavin Pereira, Perinatal Epidemiologist and Biostatistician, Curtin University

Nicole Hasseldine, ISLA Grief & Loss

Find out more about the research Red Nose currently funds here.